Minority Group Petitioned SC To Overturn The E-levy Pass

Court Room

Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, and two fellow NDC MPs have petitioned the Supreme Court to overturn Parliament’s adoption of the E-levy.

The Minority leader, Mahama Ayariga, and Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa are requesting that the court deem the passing of the E-levy by the Majority group in parliament as unlawful and hence null and void.

Their argument is that Parliament lacked the necessary quorum to pass the E-levy, as required by Article 104(1) of the 1992 Constitution, as recently construed by the Supreme Court.

The Plaintiffs would like the court to rule the entire process, including the second and third readings, as unconstitutional, null, invalid, and have no impact.

In clarity, the plaintiffs claim that there were only 136 MPs present in Parliament at the time the second reading for the E-Levy was held, which is less than the requisite number 138.

Advertisement ~ Scroll to continue