3 Absentee MPs Faces the Privileges Committee

3 Absentee MPs

3 absentee MPs have been referred to the Privileges Committee of Parliament by the Speaker, and they are presently debating their fate.

Sarah Adwoa Safo, Henry Quartey, and Kennedy Agyapong were sent to the Privileges Committee by Speaker of the House Alban Bagbin on May 4 for missing more than fifteen legislative sessions.

The Speaker claims that the MPs’ absence without his consent is a violation of the house’s regulations.

Last week, the committee was unable to reach a final verdict because one of the MPs, Adwoa Safo, failed to appear at the Committee hearing.

Henry Quartey and Kennedy Agyapong are the other MPs.

Advertisement ~ Scroll to continue

They both showed up before the committee, stating that they were unable to attend due to illness.