EU To Allow Ukrainians The Right To Stay For Up To 3 Years

EU To allow Ukrainians to reside for 3 years

At least 300,000 Ukrainian refugees have entered the EU so far, and the bloc needs to prepare for millions more, they said. EU members Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Hungary have land borders with Ukraine.

According to them, at least 300,000 Ukrainian migrants have already entered the EU, and the bloc must prepare for millions more.

Ukraine shares land borders with EU members Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Hungary.

“It is our job to take in people who flee war,” French Interior Minister Gerald Darmanin said on Monday, adding that the EU interior minister had entrusted the European Commission with producing draft measures to offer them refuge on Sunday. On Thursday, the ministers will meet again to finalize the specifics.

The EU temporary protection regulation, drafted following the Balkan wars of the 1990s but never implemented, guarantees the same degree of protection in all EU countries for one to three years, including a residence permit, access to employment, social assistance, and medical care.

Advertisement ~ Scroll to continue

Most EU ministers support the move on Sunday, according to EU Home Affairs Commissioner Ylva Johansson, with just a few asking if now was the right moment or if it was better to wait a little longer.

“All EU member states are ready to take Ukrainian refugees,” stated German Interior Minister Nancy Faeser.

According to UN projections, four million Ukrainians are anticipated to depart the nation as refugees, according to Janez Lenarcic, European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Management.

Women and kids are arriving at the border in eastern Poland, Slovakia, and Hungary, as well as northern and northeastern Romania, as males of conscription age are barred from leaving Ukraine.